Bulgur with chickpea

After a long day’s work, when I am super hungry, I need something simple to cook. Also, if I have to cook lunch early in the morning before I leave for office,  a quick recipe is what I need. Bulgur is something I discovered in recent past. Yes! this late. Well, better late than never. I  like the simplicity of cooking it and the variety of flavors that it can compliment. I usually boil bulgur in enough amounts to suffice for evening (dinner) and morning (lunch). I store boiled bulgur in refrigerator overnight. Here in this blog is my first take with chickpeas, capsicum and onion.

Ingredients

1 cup boiled bulgur

1 onion cut in slices from end to end

1 red capsicum cut in dices

1/2 cup boiled chickpeas

1/2 cup milk

1 tsp cumin seeds

1/2 tsp coriander powder, red chili powder, turmeric powder, garam masala and blackpepper

Freshly cut or dried coriander leaves for garnish

Salt to taste

1 tsp oil

Method

Boil the bulgur in salt water and keep it aside. Take a skillet, add oil and cumin seeds. Add onions and capsicum and fry till soft. Add coriander powder, red chilli powder, turmeric powder and fry for a few minutes Add chick peas, milk and bulgur. Cover the pan and cook till the milk gets absorbed in bulgur and leaves it moist (if you like your bulgur dry , leave aside the milk). Add garam masala, black pepper and salt ( be careful, as it was used while boiling bulgur). Mix it well and cook it for few more minutes. Switch off the heat and garnish with coriander leaves.

20160303_215132.jpg

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Aditi says:

    This looks delicious. What is Bulgur though? This looks like rice to me. Is there any Indian ingrediant that can substitute Bulgur?

    Like

  2. moody7foodie says:

    You will be surprised.. It’s our very own ahe old daliya or lapsi. It’s just broken wheat. But, I don’t remember making dishes like this or it looking so fluffy after boiling/cooking. Somehow, I remember it given to eat when someone is sick and also sweet versions of daliya.

    Like

  3. Aditi says:

    I thought so.. i make daliya quite often 😊but didnt know that its called bulgur…alternatively u can pressure cook it like khichdi.. super post..

    Like

Leave a Reply

